The Dangerous Bridge Between Paranormal And Conspiracy

Rosé Black
7 min readJul 24, 2024

Alright, this article may be contentious so right off the bat, I want to put a disclaimer here. The contents of this are not meant to be antagonizing. I’m simply trying to address what I feel can be problematic when it comes to the horror and paranormal spectrum. With that said, paranormal is a weird word because it implies something existing outside of nature. The problem with this is if something exists it is by default part of nature.

Therefore, things such as ghosts, aliens, fae even angels, deities, and the afterlife would all be part of the natural world. That is if concrete evidence of these things existed. I consider myself a casual true paranormal fan. I’m not neck-deep in it, but I do follow some channels on TikTok and YouTube that are. For the former, it’s users that post clip compilations of people’s supernatural experiences.

This varies. It could be someone hearing a noise in their house or seeing a moving shape. However, when they check it out there’s nothing there which is a repeating theme for a lot of those videos. Others involve people going into the woods and seeing signs of fae, but to be fair, only two fae videos have popped up on my feed so far. Imagine if Arthur Conan Doyle were still alive. He’d be all over this.

Anyway, skinwalkers and wendigos are popular when it comes to the paranormal in the great outdoors. This can either be someone hearing a noise they claim is one of the two or even being chased by them. Addressing the latter, for me…

--

--

Rosé Black

Hello, I mainly write horror but also blend it with comedy, sci-fi, or fantasy. If you’re a fan of these genres, I hope you’ll like my work.